Home » Help Center » Creating a New Project for a New Registration Season

Creating a New Project for a New Registration Season

As you gear up for a new registration season, here are some tips on achieving a seamless transition from your old project into your new one.

While a unique process might work best for you, this sequence finds success with many Regpack clients.

Step 1: Copy Your Project

Copy over your old project (learn how to do this here).
We’d strongly advise that you keep user porting turned on! This will allow returning users to login and find their information in your new project, and you have the option of archiving previous applicants to prevent data from porting over later on.

Step 2: Edit Your Project Details

Once your new project is created, be sure to check and update:

  1. Autobill Plans, including updating the dates for your plans
  2. Product pricing, names and any expiration dates
  3. Adjust, remove, or add any questions on your forms, including questions you need updates (like grades, address, etc)
  4. Test your new project to make sure it looks and flows how you’d like!
  5. Update the embed code on your website to your new project code.

Step 3: Email Existing Users

Send an email in your old project with your new project details (updated link, registration dates, and more).

Step 4: Control your data porting

Porting by default:

When you copy a project, you open a channel between the old project and the new project. It works like this:

  1. You complete the copy and log in to your new project, but don’t see any users there – that’s good! We didn’t want to clutter your project with users who might not actually attend the next registration cycle.
  2. Now let’s say that i’m a user in your old project, and my account is active. When I log in to the new version, my address fields are already filled out, my medical history is still there… the only pieces which do not port over are e-signatures, product selections, previous orders or payments… everything you would typically want your applicants to choose again for the next registration cycle. Keep in mind that your applicants can still visit previous forms to update information if they’d like!
  3. Once an applicant logs in to the new project, you are free to archive them in the old project – data porting happens one time, and then it’s done! So what happens if you archive them in the old project prior to them logging in to the new project?

Good question!

How not to port:

If you would not like for your user data to port, then you are able to archive some or all of the applicants in your previous project. See this article for more on how to apply statuses to your applicants.

Any applicant who is archived will not have their user data port over. Keep in mind that they will always keep the same email and password (unless the applicant logs in themselves to change it).

The result of archiving the applicant in the previous project is that none of their form data will automatically populate in the new project.

Archiving users in old projects has the upside that they aren’t counted towards your total applicant count, which could potentially bump you into a higher monthly billing tier monthly bill if you’re right on the edge.

Most of the time this isn’t an issue though! If you decide to archive them, you will still have access to their information by running reports and including archived users.