Regpack

Recurring Products

You can create a new recurring product in any Regpack project by simply creating a new product and selecting “Recurring” as the product type.

Recurring products are great for:

Recurring Products have a subset of settings that allow you to customize the product to your specifications.

These include:

In addition, you’ll have settings you find on any product type in Regpack, including the description, filter options, Purchase Protection, availability and expiration date, and quotas.

When to add the product

This is the core setting for your recurring product – how often it reoccurs.

You can have the product reoccur daily, monthly, annually, or a custom number of days.

From here, decide what action will trigger this time schedule, including the date the product was added to the cart, the date it was paid for, the date the user registered, or the date the user made their first order.

There are two settings that go along with this section:

  1. User decides if the product reocurrs
  2. Allow the user to unsubscribe themselves from future reoccurrences

The on/off options for these two put the control either in only your hands or also in the hands of your user.

If you select “On” for the first option, the user can check a box if they’d like the product to reoccur or not. This is great for donations if you’d like to give users the option to make a one-time or recurring donation. Leave “off” if you do not want to give the user this option. When set to “on”, you can also decide whether or not the checkbox is automatically selected or not.

If you select “On” for the second option, this will place an “unsubscribe” button next to the product in their dashboard, and allow a user to remove future reoccurrences from their cart. We recommend this setting set to “Off” for things like subscriptions and memberships, which will allow you to ensure you get paid according to your terms and conditions.

When to stop adding the product

This setting allows you to decide when you’d like the product to stop adding automatically to the user’s cart.

There are 3 options:

  1. Never
  2. After X number of occurrences
  3. On a fixed date

There is no recommended option as this depends on the product and your desired setup.

For example, if you’d like to create an annual plan that is paid on a monthly basis, you can create a recurring product set at the price of 1 month, have the product add monthly, and have the product stop adding after 12 occurrences. Note that the initial adding of the product is considered 1 occurrence.

For the fixed date, this means that after that date, the product will no longer add according to the “when to add” setting. If the product is added after this date, the system will not add the product again.

Upgrading / Downgrading Products

If you would like to provide upgrade and or downgrade options for the product to other products, you can turn this setting “on”.

Once on, there will be a button presented to users to upgrade or downgrade to other products. You will choose which products are eligible to upgrade and/or downgrade to in the settings, as shown below.

Note that you can also choose the text for the button. So if you only set products that are “upgrades” or products that are “downgrades”, you can set the text so the user understands what their options are.

Additionally, you can enable prorating when an upgrade/downgrade is made which will calculate the cost per day of the previous option, and then prorate the difference of the new product.

For example, if a user was previously on a plan valued at $1,200 and used $200 worth (2 months of 12), an upgrade to a 24 month plan, valued at $2000, would deduct that $200 from the total owed on the new product. Click “On” to enable this, or “off” if you’d like the user to pay the full value of the new product, regardless of previous payments on another plan.

You can customize the message that appears above of the upgrade options presented when the user clicks the upgrade button. We suggest a marketing line or something to explain or encourage users to upgrade!

The last setting with regards to upgrades/downgrades is what should happen to the existing and new product upgrade.

You have 3 options:

Autocharging

The settings previously relate to when the product actually adds to the user’s cart. With autocharging, you decide if you’d like to also have the system automatically charge the user once the product is in the cart.

The recommended setting is “on”. If “off”, the user will have to initiate a payment themselves.

You can set a delay to the autocharge, which means that if the product is set to add on the 1st of the month, each month, the charge will happen X number of days after the product is added.

The user needs to have a saved payment method on file for auto charging to work.

Auto Renewing

We recommend turning the setting for the product to renew automatically to “On”

You can have the setting turned on, and also limit the number of auto-renewals.

For example, if you have a 2 year plan, you can set the renewal to 1, and the occurrences to 12 (1 year), so the user is charged monthly for 1 year, and then the plan repeats another time, for a total of 24 months.

We recommend this setting to be “off” and allow the product to continue to reoccur until the user or you decide to end the subscription. When “on”, a setting appears to define the number of autorenewals.

Exit mobile version