1) How does the pricing work?
When creating a new project, there are 4 pricing options:
a) $50 – this is the minimum mandatory cost necessary to create a new project. If you choose this option then you will be able to copy your current project or build one from scratch. Copying projects includes the porting over of any data (system or otherwise) for no additional charge. With either a copy or an additional project, however, you will not be assigned a project manager at this price tier, and you will be responsible for making any edits or changes to your copy, as well as building out your own new project. Support for this will only be available through our email support service.
b) $0- The copy project fee is waived for our annual plan clients.
c) $50 + $150 – this includes the mandatory fee of $50 as well as a $150 fee for a project manager to be assigned to your build. The project manager will be available to assist you with your project set up, and generally serve as an adviser for any questions you might have about your new application, similar to the first time you set up your application.
d) $150 – This option is for project manager support ONLY for annual plan clients. Clients on an annual plan can copy or create new projects for free.
2) What happens to the original version of our system?
It’s stays put! You’ll be able to access your old system by clicking the drop down next to your project name at the top right of the page.
3) Will I still have access and for how long?
Yes! You will still have access to your old system, and you’ll be able to switch back and forth as desired by clicking on the project name in the bottom left corner of the screen.
4) Will I need new iFrame codes that link to the new the system copy?
Yes, you will need to switch out your iFrame code on your website. See this article for more one accessing your iframe code.
Each system in Regpack has a unique iFrame code, so ensure you use the code on your website from the system you’d like to present.
5) How does the user data porting work?
When you copy your project, you have the option to copy over your applicants data. This means that when your applicants log in to the new system, their answers to their questions from the previous registration cycle will automatically appear in the new system.
In order for this porting to occur, two things need to happen:
a) the applicants in the “source” system (the project you copied the information from) must remain as active applicants
b) You need to make sure User data is turned on when copying the project.
Go to settings –> project settings –> create new project –> copy project –> project settings –> user data porting turned on.
6) If I have outstanding payment plans going in the old system, how will the system copy affect that?
When you copy a project, your original project is not changed in any way. So if I expected incoming payments from an autobilling installment two days from now in my original project, and then I copied that project today, then my applicants would still be charged in the original project on schedule, and they would not be charged in the new project (since they haven’t logged in yet, ordered products, made payments, etc…).
7) Will users still be able to login and complete forms in the old system?
Yes – you will have two systems, each with its associated iFrame code. This means that when accessing a page with the code (or directly on the regpacks.com URL), they will login to that system. Ensure that you put the correct code on your website for each unique project.
8) How does the having a copy of the system affect our billing moving forward?
The $50 charge is a one time charge, and there are no additional fees specifically associated with having numerous projects (ie, if you’re the admin of two projects, you’re not charged two admin fee’s).
Your full time admin costs are determined by the total number of applicants you have across all of your systems. So if in your new project you have enough applicants register to bump you up to the next billing tier (brackets are 0 – 2,000, 2,000 – 5,000, 5,000 – 15,000, etc…), then you could see an increase in your monthly bill.
9) When am I charged the $50 Admin fee?
You are charged when you create the new project, regardless of the date you open it for registration.
10) I was being charged for any Users on the “old” project as well as the “new” project. I do not want to be double-charged for people who are listed on both projects.
Porting over applicant’s information from one project to another used to be a time consuming and costly process. With this in mind, our development team made some edits to ensure that user data could be ported over automatically from one project to it’s copy.
On a technical level, the system treats applicants who are archived differently than active applicants, which means that in order for the porting connection to function, the applicant in the original project must be active in order for the connection to remain open. Archiving an applicant in the original system will close this connection, and applicant’s information will not port over.
Data porting between projects used to be a costly feature, and switching to user data porting substantially lowered the price. If you would not like to port user data, then you would be free to archive all of the applicants in the original project to avoid moving into a new tier of registrants and increasing your admin fees.
Here are three points about maintaining active users in the original system:
(a) It is technically necessary to allow the porting feature to work
(b) It can be avoided by archiving your applicants
(c) In terms of monthly fees, it only affects clients on the threshold of a higher billing tier. If you’re firmly within one billing tier, or it’s worth it to you to have your applicant’s data ported over, then you should take advantage of it. If it’s not worth it to you, or you just don’t want their data ported over, then feel free to archive all previous applicants.
11) Do I have to manually archive users in the original project if I don’t want their data to be ported?
You have two options if you do not want user’s forms to be pre-filled from last year: turn off user data porting when copying the project (settings –> project settings –> create new project –> copy project –> copy settings), or archive all users in the original system.
12) I would like to be able to see a User’s history from past semesters. Is that still available to me when returning customers register on the new project?
If you want to see past semesters you can look up the information in the original project. Follow the steps to switch between projects here.
13) Most of the information transferred over: products, emails, forms, etc. The only information that didn’t transfer over is all of the student/parent info?? All of the those who registered last year, their info didn’t transfer over. Where are my users?!?!
Users will populate in the system as they log into the new project. This is great because the only users in your new system are those who are registering in that new project.
14) Do my returning users need to fill out their information again if the data is ported over? What about questions I want them to answer again this year?
When an applicant creates an account within any project of your organization, they will be able to use the same login email and password for any other projects within your organization.
If you port data between two projects (ie last years project, and this year’s copy, etc…), then when they log into the new project any of the fields which are fixed that don’t trigger anything (such as addresses) will automatically port over, and the user will appear in your new project. If they never log in to the new project, they won’t appear (so they don’t clutter your new project).
Archiving an applicant in the original project will *not* affect the applicant’s ability to log in to the copied project, but means that their answers to questions won’t port over.
There is a way to ensure users answer a question again in the new project if you’d like them to (did their age/grade change for this season?). To disconnect the user data porting from the original project for one question, delete the field and then add it back to the form.
Go to settings –> forms –> edit form fields –> click on the field –> delete. Click add field and add it back to the form. Users will be taken to their first incomplete form when they log in, so if the question is mandatory they will see it and need to complete it for their form to be marked complete.
Do you have other questions? Email support: email@example.com